Home page Rowing Hub

NZ Rowing Championships

The New Zealand Rowing Championships is the club championship regatta for New Zealand. 

The regatta is held alternatively between Lake Karāpiro and Lake Ruataniwha in February over five days each year.

The New Zealand Rowing Championships were first held in 1888 where a four race was held in Whanganui and a single sculls race was held in Wellington. 

The championships have been held every year since with the exception of two intervals during the World Wars.

Clubs race for the Centennial Oar, Centennial Scull and the top rowing association in eight boat events wins the Hallyburton Johnstone Rose Bowl.

The 2025 New Zealand Rowing Championships will be held on 18-22 February at Lake Ruataniwha.