Home page

2023 U23 & U21 Initial Trialist Announcement

  • 03 Feb 23


As per the High Performance Selection Guidelines (published on the RNZ website), an initial trialist list of U23 and U21 eligible athletes will be announced on Friday 3 February, with a final list announced no later than Sunday morning, 19 February 2023.


This week, we found out that the FISU World University Rowing Championships in Canada (13-15 July 2023) have been cancelled, therefore we will no longer be selecting a team for this event. University Trans-Tasman selection information will be available after NZ Club Champs.


This is the initial U23 and U21 trialist list with the final U23 and U21 trialist list being published after the NZ Club Champs.

The following athletes are invited to attend the 2023 U23 and U21 trials at Lake Karāpiro from 20 – 24 February (will need to arrive in the PM of 19 February).

There is no cost to attend the trial, flights will be arranged for South Island/Lower North Island athletes if required.

Athletes are asked to confirm their acceptance of the trial via email to Lisa Holton (lisa@rowingnz.kiwi) no later than Tuesday 7 February 2023.

U23 Women

  • Charlotte Darry - Avon Rowing Club
  • Holly Mills - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Isobel Eliadis-Watson - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Jane Schellekens - Avon Rowing Club
  • Phoebe Trolove - Otago University Rowing Club

U23 Men

  • Angus Kenny - Dunstan Arm Rowing Club
  • Ben Mason* - Avon Rowing Club
  • Ben Olifiers - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Evan Williams - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Kobe Miller* - Wairau Rowing Club
  • Josh Vodanovich - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Oliver Welch - Avon Rowing Club
  • Samuel Shotter* - Waikato Rowing Club

*subject to completing all the selection requirements

U21 Women

  • Charlotte Lightfoot - Dunstan Arm Rowing Club
  • Grace Farrell - Avon Rowing Club
  • Holly Lill - Avon Rowing Club
  • Jemma Burrowes - Avon Rowing Club
  • Mackenzie Tuffin - Star Boating Club
  • Madeleine Parker - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Madison Neale - Clifton Rowing Club
  • Messina Su’a - Aramoho-Whanganui Rowing Club
  • Orla Fitzgerald - Avon Rowing Club

U21 Men

  • Cameron MacGillivray - West End Rowing Club
  • Connor Bacchus - Avon Rowing Club
  • Edward Lopas - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Fred Vavasour - Wairau Rowing Club
  • George Johnson - Cure Boating Club
  • Gerard Wall - Dunstan Arm Rowing Club
  • Henry Clatworthy - Dunstan Arm Rowing Club
  • Henry Kirk - Avon Rowing Club
  • Jack Pearson - Dunstan Arm Rowing Club
  • Liam Collins - Wairau Rowing Club
  • Oscar Ruston - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Ryan Gass - Auckland Rowing Club
  • Sam Wilson - Avon Rowing Club

U21 Coxswains

  • Ella Hansen - Waikato Rowing Club
  • Isabella-Hope Murray - Avon Rowing Club
  • Oliver Duncan - Waikato Rowing Club