Home page

World Rowing Cup 2 - Day 3

  • 19 Jun 22

It was a golden day for the Kiwis on Day 3 of the 2022 World Rowing Cup 2 in Poznan, Poland. 

Matt Dunham has won gold in the men's lightweight single scull in New Zealand's first A final of the regatta. He lined up against Ireland, Uruguay, Belarus, Poland 1 and Poland 2. Fintan McCarthy (IRL) had a flying start, but Matt never let the Irishman too far out of his sights. Over the middle 1000m Matt clawed back McCarthy's lead and their bow balls were even through the 500m to go. This is where the Kiwi showed his true pace and edged ahead, crossing the finish line 1.5seconds ahead of McCarthy in second, and Felipe Ferreira (URU) in third. 

The Kiwi team also contested a range of smaller finals and semi finals throughout the day.

James Scott had a great race in the men's single scull and won his D Final, putting 16 seconds into second place.

Kirstyn Goodger raced in the C final of the women's single scull and placed second. 

Tom Mackintosh and Matt Macdonald raced in the A/B semi-final of the men's pair against Netherlands, Moldova, Hungary, France and the USA. The Kiwis finished in second place just 0.34 seconds behind the Netherlands and secured themselves a spot in the A final to be raced on Sunday.

Phoebe Spoors, Beth Ross, Davina Waddy and Catherine Layburn contested the A/B semi-final of the women's four lining up against Ireland, Canada 1, China 1, China 2, and Canada 2. The Kiwis produced a great wind to move through Canada 1 in the last 250m and finish in second place, 0.41 seconds behind Ireland in first. The crew will now race in the A final on Sunday. 

Charlotte Spence had her second outing in the women's single sculls and lined up in the A/B semi final. Charlotte put in a gutsy performance but unfortunately missed out on a top three spot. The Kiwi will line up in the B final on Sunday.

The men's quadruple sculls of Jordan Parry, Brook Robertson, Phillip Wilson and Jack O'Leary had their repechage and lined up against Poland 1, Czech Republic 1, Czech Republic 2, and India. The top two crews progressed through to the A final, with the remainder going to the B final. The New Zealanders left it all on the course and narrowly missed out on a place in the A final. They will contest the B final on Sunday. 

The following races will take place on Sunday (all times are listed in NZ time):

Women's single scull B final (Charlotte Spence) - 7.20pm

Women's quadruple scull B final (Stella Clayton-Greene, Georgia Nugent-O'Leary, Kristen Froude, Kate Haines) - 7.40pm

Men's quadruple scull B final (Jordan Parry, Brook Robertson, Phillip Wilson, Jack O'Leary) - 7.45pm

Men's pair A final (Tom Mackintosh, Matt Macdonald) - 9.08pm

Women's four A final (Phoebe Spoors, Beth Ross, Davina Waddy, Catherine Layburn) - 10.38pm

For more information and a full race schedule please visit the World Rowing website.