Home page

NZ Rowing Championships

The New Zealand Rowing Championships is the club championship regatta for New Zealand. The regatta is held alternatively between Lake Karapiro and Lake Ruataniwha in February over five days each year.

The New Zealand Rowing Championships were first held in 1888 where a four race was held in Wanganui and a single sculls race was held in Wellington. The championships have been held every year since with the exception of two intervals during the world wars.

Today the rowing clubs race in novice, U19, club, senior, lightweight and para rowing classes and regional performance centres race in U20, U22 and Premier classes. There are 74 events in the regatta programme.

There are 65 rowing clubs in New Zealand, and there are four regional performance centres that can compete.

Clubs race for the Centennial Oar, Centennial Scull and the top rowing association in eight boat events wins the Hallyburton Johnstone Rose Bowl.