Home page

New Zealand Rowing Teams

The main international competitions for the Rowing NZ High Performance programme are the Olympic Games (held every 4 years with the next Olympic Games held in Tokyo), the World Rowing Cup series, and the annual World Rowing Championships. The World Rowing Cup series comprises three regattas held each year with overall winners being determined by points that are awarded to the top finishing boats at each event. New Zealand routinely attends World Rowing Cup II and III. On occasion, the New Zealand Elite Team elite also attends events such as the Henley Royal Regatta.

Rowing NZ also select teams each year to contest the World Rowing Junior Championships, Trans-Tasman U21 Series, World Rowing U23 Championships, University Trans-Tasman Series and the World Rowing University Championships (held every second year), and athletes also race at Universiade (Summer University Games).